Update on Regional Chair Elections to MA GOP

Region 1 – Rich Berrena

Region 2 – Mindy McKenzie Hebert

Region 3 – Rob Capucci

Region 4 – Todd Taylor

Region 5 – Mark Townsend


The Region 4 votes was not finalized until this morning.  Todd Taylor had won the seat by a vote of 9 to 8, after the person chairing the caucus broke the tie with her vote, as was her right under Roberts Rules.  Angela Davis and Dom Ianno, both state employees argued adamantly that the vote had somehow violated the process.  Their vocal argument threw the results into question, and thus the delay in confirmation.

To her credit, this morning Kirsten Hughes ruled that the vote was legitimate, and that Todd Taylor was in fact elected.  Ms. Hughes has been the subject of much criticism in the past, some valid, some not.  But in this case she deserves credit for standing up for what is right.



About Steve Aylward

Steve Aylward is one of the principal owners of Red Mass Group. He is the Republican State Committeeman for Second Suffolk & Middlesex, comprised of Belmont, Watertown, Brighton and Back Bay. In 2014 he was Co-Chairman of the Question 1 - the Ballot Initiative which successfully repealed automatic gas tax hikes.