Greater Boston Tea Party elects new President, Officers

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                  

DECEMBER 26, 2011                                                                                          

Greater Boston Tea Party elects new President, Officers

Boston – The Greater Boston Tea Party has elected Christine Morabito to serve as president of the non-profit, all-volunteer policy advocacy organization. Ms. Morabito, whose two-year term commences January 1, 2012, replaces Christen Varley, who served as the first president. Both are counted among founders of the organization.

Christine Morabito, a nurse, has been heavily involved in the Tea Party movement from its beginning in 2009 and has served on the steering committee of the Greater Boston Tea Party since the organization’s incorporation in 2010. She is also a committee chair within the Merrimack Valley Tea Party.

“Christine has been a dedicated activist within the movement and has exhibited outstanding leadership qualities in her writing, her public speaking and her service to the Greater Boston Tea Party,” said Christen Varley, outgoing president. “I have complete confidence Christine can successfully lead the organization through the exciting months ahead of us.”

In 2012, the Greater Boston Tea Party will to continue its mission of educating and informing voters as well as advocating for and against public policy at both the state and national level. Monthly meetings, guest speakers and public rallies are scheduled for the next nine months as the nation looks to elect a President and Federal legislators.

“When we articulate the principles of limited government, free speech, free markets, individual liberty and personal responsibility, we will naturally grow our numbers and have a positive effect on public policy, both locally and nationally,” said Ms. Morabito.  “I am both humbled and honored to have been chosen by the steering committee to be the next president of the Greater Boston Tea Party.”

Patrick Humphries was re-elected to serve as treasurer of the group, while Christen Varley was elected to serve as secretary. The steering committee nominates and elects officers every two years. New terms commence January 1, 2012 and end December 31, 2013. Other members of the Steering Committee include Austin Hess, Katherine Malone, Peter Laird and Ralph Zazula.

About CVarley